If you search for a KuCoin prepaid card today, you will find two different products and a lot of out-of-date information. The current one is KuCard in Australia: a Mastercard issued by Immersve that spends USDC from your KuCoin account. The older one is a Visa KuCard launched for European residents in 2023, which secondary sources say stopped operating at the end of 2025. In this review we separate the two, show what KuCoin has actually confirmed, and flag every number we could not verify. There are quite a few.
Our verdict on KuCard
KuCard has a solid foundation in Australia. The issuer is named, it holds an Australian Financial Services Licence, and the card runs on Mastercard with Apple Pay and Google Pay. For an existing KuCoin user who keeps USDC on the exchange, it is a simple way to spend.
The problem is information. KuCoin has not published a fee table, spending limits, ATM terms or reward rates that we could verify. Its own card pages did not load for us. The European card’s status is also unclear on official channels. We can’t recommend a card on terms we can’t see, so we score KuCard 6.4 out of 10. That reflects a credible issuer and a thin, single-country offer.
Credible Australian issuer and wallet support, but almost no published fee or limit data and only one confirmed country.
- Fees5.5
- Availability5.0
- Limits5.5
- Custody & issuer8.0
- Features7.5
KuCoin card at a glance
Key facts
- Network
- Mastercard (Australia); Visa (old EEA card)
- Issuer (Australia)
- Immersve Pty Ltd, AFSL 545925
- Card type
- Not stated by KuCoin
- Spends
- USDC, converted to fiat at checkout
- Apple Pay / Google Pay
- Yes (Australia)
- Confirmed region
- Australia
- EEA status
- Reportedly ended end-2025 (unverified)
- Card / monthly fee
- Not published
- FX fee
- Not published
- ATM fees / limits
- Not published
- Rewards
- Not published (secondary claims only)
KuCard in Australia
KuCoin launched KuCard in Australia on the Mastercard network in partnership with Immersve. According to KuCoin’s own press release, “Immersve Pty Ltd (AFSL 545925) is who issues or provides KuCard”, and Immersve is a Mastercard principal member. That is a clear and checkable statement, which is more than many crypto cards offer. Our Australia country guide compares it with other cards open to residents.
The card spends USDC. When you pay, the USDC in your KuCoin account is converted to fiat at checkout, so the shop is paid in ordinary currency as usual. KuCoin said 37 USDC trading pairs were available at launch. In practice, that means you can sell many other coins for USDC on KuCoin before you spend, but the card itself only draws on USDC. Our stablecoin cards guide explains why so many new cards work this way.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so you can use KuCard on your phone. For how wallet support affects approvals, see our page on crypto cards with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
One detail is missing: KuCoin does not say whether KuCard counts as a prepaid or a debit-style card. Most exchange cards spend straight from your trading balance rather than from a separately loaded card balance. The difference matters for limits and protections, and our debit vs prepaid guide explains why.
What happened to the European KuCard
KuCoin launched a Visa KuCard for EEA residents in 2023, according to trade coverage at the time. In 2026 the picture is less clear. A card-tracking site reports that the European card stopped operating at the end of 2025 and was described as “under upgrade”. We could not confirm this on kucoin.com, where the product footer still mentions KuCard but the card pages did not load for our location.
So our position is cautious. If you live in the EU, assume you cannot get a new KuCard until KuCoin publishes a European offer. The MiCA transition is relevant here. Since mid-2026 every transitional period has ended, and any exchange serving EU retail customers must hold its own MiCA authorisation. A relaunch would need to fit that framework. Our Europe guide lists cards that are available to EU residents today, and our crypto card news page tracks launches and closures.
The two KuCards side by side, as far as can be confirmed
● yes ◐ partly / some regions ○ no
KuCard fees and limits
This section is short for a simple reason: KuCoin does not publish the numbers. We looked for issuance fees, monthly fees, FX fees, ATM fees, spending limits and reward rates. None of them appeared on an official KuCoin page we could access in October 2026.
| Item | Official KuCoin figure | Secondary claim |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not published | — |
| Monthly fee | Not published | — |
| FX fee | Not published | — |
| Conversion | USDC at checkout | Spread not stated |
| ATM fee | Not published | 1.5% (old EEA card) |
| Rewards | Not published | 1–8% in points (Australia) |
| Limits | Not published | — |
The secondary claims come from card comparison sites, not from KuCoin. We include them so you know what you might see elsewhere, but we would not rely on them. Before you spend, check the fee and limit screens in the KuCoin app. To see what typical crypto cards charge, compare our guides to crypto card fees and crypto card limits.
Our team has a simple rule: if a provider won’t show you the fee table, you test with small amounts first. With KuCard, load only the USDC you need for a week or two, make a few small purchases, and compare the AUD charged against the USDC deducted. That tells you the real conversion cost in minutes. Only then decide whether KuCard deserves a bigger share of your spending.
Australian rules and tax for KuCard users
Australia changed its crypto rules in 2026, and they affect any exchange card. From 31 March 2026, AUSTRAC renamed digital currency exchanges as virtual asset service providers and widened the services it regulates. A provider must be registered before providing those services. We did not verify KuCoin’s own entry, so check the AUSTRAC register before you deposit. The card issuer, Immersve, holds its own AFSL.
A second change is coming. The Digital Assets Framework law received Royal Assent on 8 April 2026. From 9 April 2027, digital asset platforms will need an Australian Financial Services Licence. Exchanges serving Australians will have to meet that standard, which should give card users more certainty.
- Visa KuCard launches in the EEA
KuCoin offers a card to European residents (trade coverage).
- EEA KuCard reportedly stops
Described as under upgrade by a card-tracking site; not confirmed on kucoin.com.
- AUSTRAC VASP regime starts
Exchanges become virtual asset service providers and must be registered.
- Digital assets law passes
Royal Assent for the Digital Assets Framework Bill 2025.
- AFSL requirement begins
Digital asset platforms need an Australian Financial Services Licence.
On tax, the ATO treats spending crypto as a CGT event. Spending USDC usually creates only small gains or losses, but movements in the AUD/USD rate can still produce them. There is a personal use asset exemption for crypto bought for less than A$10,000 and used mainly to buy items for personal use, especially when it is spent soon after purchase. Crypto held for a long time before spending is less likely to qualify. Never assume card spending is tax-free. Our crypto card tax guide covers the details.
Issuer and custody
KuCard is custodial. Your USDC sits in your KuCoin account until you spend it, so you depend on KuCoin as a company, as with any exchange card. The card side is handled by Immersve, a licensed Australian issuer and Mastercard principal member. That split, an exchange for the crypto and a licensed issuer for the card, is the normal structure for regulated crypto cards. Our crypto card safety guide explains how to judge both parts.
If you hold large balances, consider keeping only your spending money on the exchange. That limits your exposure if the card or the exchange changes its terms, as the European KuCard story shows can happen.
How to apply for KuCard in Australia
- 01Verify your KuCoin account
Complete full identity checks as an Australian resident.
- 02Check AUSTRAC registration
Look up KuCoin on the AUSTRAC register before depositing funds.
- 03Hold USDC
Buy or convert to USDC, the only asset the card spends.
- 04Request KuCard
Apply in the app and review the fees and limits shown there.
- 05Add it to your phone
Set up Apple Pay or Google Pay and test with a small purchase.
KuCard pros and cons
What we like
- Named Australian issuer: Immersve (AFSL 545925)
- Mastercard network with Apple Pay and Google Pay
- Simple model: spend USDC, converted at checkout
- Convenient for people who already trade on KuCoin
Watch out for
- No fee, limit or cashback table we could verify
- Only confirmed for Australian residents
- European Visa KuCard reportedly ended in late 2025
- Spends USDC only, so other coins must be converted first
KuCard alternatives
Australians have several cards with published terms. The Crypto.com Card is a true prepaid Visa issued locally by Foris GFS Australia, with a published ATM allowance. The Bybit Card has an Australian Mastercard, though its current local status needs checking. KAST is reported to be available, and RedotPay does not list Australia as unsupported. Locally, the CoinJar Card is a prepaid Mastercard issued by EML with published fees.
| Card | Network | FX fee | ATM | Where | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crypto.com Card | Visa | 0–3% by tier/region | Free €200–€1,000/mo, then 2% | EEA, UK, US, Canada, Australia | Review Official site ↗ |
| Bybit Card | Mastercard / Visa | 0.5–2% (AR 7%) | 2% after free allowance | EEA, AU, BR, MX, AR, PE, GE, KZ, APAC | Review Official site ↗ |
| KAST Card | Visa | 0.5–1.75% | $3 + 2%, $750/day | 170+ countries (not India) | Review Official site ↗ |
| RedotPay Card | n/d | 1.2% | 2% (3% above $10k/mo) | 100+ countries (not US) | Review Official site ↗ |
Our pick for most Australians is a card with a full fee table, such as Crypto.com. KuCard makes sense mainly if you already trade on KuCoin and want to spend USDC without moving it elsewhere. If you live in Europe, look at our reviews hub for cards that are open to new EU users today.
Frequently asked questions
Does KuCoin have a prepaid card?
Is KuCard available in Europe?
Who issues KuCard in Australia?
What are the KuCard fees?
Sources and official pages
- KuCoin press release — KuCard launches on Mastercard in Australia (PR Newswire)
- KuCoin — official site
- PYMNTS — KuCoin launches Visa card in Europe (2023, secondary)
- SpendNode — KuCoin card status report (secondary)
- AUSTRAC — about the AML/CTF reforms
- AUSTRAC — remittance and VASP register search
- ATO — crypto asset as a personal use asset
- Parliament of Australia — Digital Assets Framework Bill 2025
Load your card with crypto you own
Buy Bitcoin, Ether or stablecoins with a bank card, Apple Pay or bank transfer, then move them to the card or wallet you choose.
Open accountExchange running since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK) · card, Apple Pay or bank transfer
