The Laso Finance crypto prepaid card is not a card you keep in your wallet for years. It is a single-load prepaid card that you buy with USDC, use for a purchase or two, and then let run down. Laso offers a USA card from $5 to $1,000 with no fee, usable only at US merchants, and an international card from $100 to $1,000 that costs 3.8%. Both are aimed at people who want to spend crypto online quickly, and at AI agents that need to pay for things.
Laso gets a lot of attention because it is often described as a “no KYC” card. In this Laso Finance review we separate what Laso itself says from what other sites say about it. We also explain the US and EU rules that decide how far any card like this can go. Facts come from Laso’s website and its product summary, US and EU legal texts, and clearly labeled secondary sources.
Our verdict
For a US-based shopper who wants to turn some USDC into a card number for one online order, Laso is fast and, on the USA card, free. That is a narrow job, and Laso does it well. As a general crypto card, though, it falls short: there is no ATM access, the USA card stops at the US border, and the international card is expensive and handled manually.
Our bigger concern is transparency. Laso’s official pages do not name the issuing bank, the card network or the KYC policy. Those details matter when a card is declined or a balance gets stuck. We score Laso 5.9 out of 10: useful for small, one-off purchases, not a place to park money.
Quick and free for small US online purchases; limited, expensive abroad and thin on official disclosures.
- Fees7.5
- Availability5.0
- Limits5.0
- Custody & issuer4.5
- Features7.5
Laso Finance at a glance
Key facts
- Card type
- Single-load prepaid
- Network
- Not stated officially
- Issuer
- Not stated officially; reported as Celtic Bank via Stripe
- USA card
- $5–$1,000, 0% fee, US merchants only
- International card
- $100–$1,000, 3.8% fee
- Canadian card
- Page exists; no details published
- Funding
- USDC on Base and Solana (x402)
- Custody
- Prefunded: the card holds the balance
- ATM
- No
- KYC
- Not stated officially; marketed as wallet sign-in
- Apple / Google Pay
- Claimed by third parties, unverified
- Monthly fee
- None
USA card vs international card
Laso sells two main products, and they behave very differently. The USA Prepaid Card is the cheap, instant one. The International Prepaid Card costs more, takes longer and, in Laso’s own words, is “queued and fulfilled by a person”. A Canadian card also appears on the site, but we found no fees or limits for it.
| Product | Load range | Fee | Where it works | Delivery |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USA Prepaid Card | $5–$1,000 | 0% | US merchants only | Instant |
| International Prepaid Card | $100–$1,000 | 3.8%* | Beyond the US | Queued, manual |
| Canadian card | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
The math is simple. A $500 USA card costs $500 in USDC, and you get a $500 card. A $500 international card costs about $19 on top. Load the international card to its $1,000 maximum and the fee reaches $38. That is more than many full crypto cards charge for a year of foreign spending; on a card with 1.2% FX, $1,000 abroad costs $12. If you need regular international spending, a reloadable card will be cheaper.
How Laso works
Laso does not ask you to open a traditional account. You connect a crypto wallet, choose a card and amount, and pay in USDC. Laso’s documentation says payments settle on Base and Solana using the x402 payment standard. Secondary sources say USDT and DAI are also accepted, but the official summary focuses on USDC.
Once paid, you receive card details to use online. Because the card is prefunded, the money sits on the card itself rather than in a crypto balance that is sold when you pay. That has one clear benefit: there is no conversion spread at the moment of purchase, since USDC already tracks the dollar. Laso’s documentation also mentions reloadable cards and withdrawal of unspent funds, though it does not describe either process in detail.
Laso openly targets AI agents as well as people. An agent that holds USDC can buy a card and pay a merchant on its own, which is part of why the service relies on wallet sign-in. For humans, the practical effect is speed. Our page on buying a prepaid card with crypto compares Laso with Bitrefill and other gift-card sellers.
Laso Finance crypto prepaid card: no KYC?
This is the question most people arrive with. A third-party developer guide describes Laso as no-ID: you connect a wallet and sign a nonce, and that is it. Laso’s own pages, which we reviewed for this article, do not say whether identity checks apply. So the honest answer is that the no-KYC Laso Finance crypto prepaid card is a marketing claim we could not confirm officially.
The same guide says the cards are issued by Celtic Bank via Stripe, and that Laso is registered with FinCEN as a money services business and uses Chainalysis for transaction monitoring. If accurate, that means your wallet activity is screened even without an ID upload. None of these points appear on Laso’s official pages, so treat them as reported, not verified. For the wider picture of what anonymous cards can and cannot do, see our guide to no-KYC crypto cards.
Why US cards stop at $1,000: FinCEN prepaid access
The shape of the USA card is no accident. Under FinCEN’s prepaid access rule, products of $1,000 or less in maximum initial or daily load are excluded from the definition of a “prepaid program”, and therefore from the heavier money services duties, but only if they meet three conditions. They cannot be used internationally, they cannot send money from person to person, and they cannot be reloaded from a non-depository source.
A US-merchant-only, single-load card capped at $1,000 fits that description neatly. That is why the same pattern appears in Bitrefill’s Digital Prepaid Visa and in Vanilla gift cards. It also suggests, in our reading, that the international card cannot rely on that same exclusion, because it is designed for use outside the US. Laso does not explain which checks apply to it.
FinCEN also defines a “seller of prepaid access” as anyone selling access usable before ID is verified, or selling more than $10,000 to one person in a day without controls. Sellers must keep customer identifying information for five years, using a risk-based approach.
Laso Finance crypto prepaid card: no KYC in the EU?
Searches for a no-KYC Laso card in the EU usually come from people hoping to spend at European shops without verification. Two things get in the way. First, the USA card only works at US merchants, so it will not help at a shop in Paris or Berlin. Second, EU law sets tight limits on anonymous prepaid cards.
Under the Fifth Anti-Money Laundering Directive, an EU country may let e-money skip customer checks only if the card holds no more than €150, is used only for goods and services, and is not funded with anonymous e-money. The exemption does not apply to online payments above €50 per transaction or cash withdrawals above €50. EU acquirers may accept anonymous cards issued outside the EU only if they meet equivalent rules, and Member States may refuse them entirely.
In practice, a card that holds $100 to $1,000 and is used online sits well above those thresholds. Laso does not publish how its international card handles EU merchants or whether ID is required. If you live in the EU, a verified card is the realistic path. Our Europe guide lists cards licensed under MiCA, many of them free to hold.
Where single-load cards fail
Single-load prepaid cards are refused more often than regular debit cards. Merchants look at how a card is classified, and many filter out prepaid and gift card numbers.
- Subscriptions and recurring billing
- PayPal, Venmo and Cash App
- Car rental desks and hotel deposits
- Money transfer services
- ATMs: Laso cards offer no cash access
- Non-US merchants, if you hold the USA card
Another practical point: split payments. If a $60 order lands on a card with $50 left, the payment will usually fail unless the merchant lets you pay the rest another way. Size each card to the purchase you plan. Our page on virtual crypto cards lists reloadable options that avoid this problem.
We see Laso as a tool, not a card. It is great for one job: buying something from a US online shop with USDC, quickly, with no fee. Use the exact amount you need, use it within days and do not leave balances sitting on cards. If you find yourself buying a new Laso card every week, you have outgrown it, and a reloadable stablecoin card will cost less and fail less.
How to use a Laso card
- 01Get USDC on Base or Solana
Buy USDC or move it from an exchange to a self-custody wallet on a supported chain.
- 02Connect your wallet
Visit laso.finance and connect the wallet you will pay from.
- 03Pick card and amount
Choose the USA card ($5–$1,000, 0%) or the international card ($100–$1,000, 3.8%).
- 04Pay and receive details
USA cards arrive instantly; international cards are queued and fulfilled by a person.
- 05Spend and check the balance
Use the card soon and review the dashboard for any unspent funds.
New to moving stablecoins between chains? Our guide on loading a crypto card covers network choice and the mistakes that cost money.
Pros and cons
What we like
- 0% fee on the USA Prepaid Card, $5 to $1,000
- Funded with USDC on Base or Solana in minutes
- No account opening or monthly fee
- Single-load design limits how much is at stake
- Works for AI agents as well as people
Watch out for
- USA card works only at US merchants
- International card costs 3.8% and is fulfilled manually
- Issuer and network not named on official pages
- No-ID claim comes from secondary sources only
- No ATM access; prepaid cards are refused by many merchants
Laso Finance alternatives
For a similar one-off card, Bitrefill names its issuer, Sutton Bank, and accepts Bitcoin and Lightning as well as stablecoins. Moon offers Lightning-funded cards but carries more risk. For a card you keep, KAST and RedotPay are reloadable stablecoin cards with ATM access, at the cost of full verification. Our safety guide explains why named issuers matter.
| Card | Type | KYC | Card fee | Where | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitrefill Prepaid Visa | Gift card | Name only | Shown at checkout | US online merchants | Review Official site ↗ |
| Moon Card | Prepaid | Tiered | $1.49–$2.99 (reported) | US merchants mainly | Review Official site ↗ |
| KAST Card | Spend card | Full ID | Standard free | 170+ countries (not India) | Review Official site ↗ |
| RedotPay Card | Spend card | Full ID | $10 virtual / $100 physical | 100+ countries (not US) | Review Official site ↗ |
Frequently asked questions
Is the Laso Finance crypto prepaid card really no KYC?
How much does a Laso Finance card cost?
Can I use a Laso card in the EU with no KYC?
Who issues Laso Finance cards?
Can I get money back from an unused Laso card?
Sources and official pages
- Laso Finance — official site and card products
- Laso Finance — product summary (llms.txt)
- FinCEN — prepaid access final rule
- FinCEN — FAQ on prepaid access
- Federal Register — prepaid access rule (31 CFR 1010.100)
- EUR-Lex — Directive (EU) 2018/843 (AMLD5)
Load your card with crypto you own
Buy Bitcoin, Ether or stablecoins with a bank card, Apple Pay or bank transfer, then move them to the card or wallet you choose.
Open accountExchange running since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK) · card, Apple Pay or bank transfer
