1. Home
  2. Reviews
  3. Wirex Card

Card review · checked October 2026

Wirex prepaid card review: what Wirex One really offers

Wirex now sells its card under Wirex One: no subscription, up to 8% cashback in USD, and zero-fee FX and ATM claims in 130+ countries. Older reviews describe paid plans and token lock-ups, so we separate what is official from what is outdated.

Exchange running since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK) · card, Apple Pay or bank transfer

  • PlanWirex One, no subscription
  • CashbackUp to 8% in USD
  • FX and ATMZero-fee (stated)
  • Coverage130+ countries (stated)
  • NetworksVisa and Mastercard principal member
By CryptoPrepaid.cards editorial team Facts checked: October 2026 Updated: ~16 min read

The Wirex prepaid card is one of the oldest names in crypto spending, and that history is part of the problem when you research it today. Wirex now sells its personal account and card as Wirex One, with “no subscription” and “no lock-up” on its official page. Yet many reviews still describe paid Premium and Elite plans and a token lock-up for the best cashback. In this review we set out what Wirex itself says now, what older sources claim, and where the two disagree. Then we tell you what to check before you sign up.

Our verdict on the Wirex card

On paper, Wirex One is a very good offer. No monthly fee, zero-fee FX and ATM use worldwide, cashback in dollars instead of a token, and top-ups by bank transfer, crypto or card. If every claim holds in practice, it would rank near the top of our list.

The catch is how little detail sits behind those claims. Wirex does not publish, on the page we checked, the caps behind its zero-fee ATM and FX promises, the conditions for 8% cashback, or the issuing entity in each region. It does not say whether the card is prepaid or debit. Older plan details still circulate and confuse the picture. We score it 7.4 out of 10: an attractive, flexible card whose terms you need to confirm yourself in the app.

7.4/10
Our score

Strong headline terms and wide coverage, held back by thin published detail and conflicting plan information.

  • Fees8.0
  • Availability8.0
  • Limits6.0
  • Custody & issuer7.0
  • Features8.0

Wirex card at a glance

These facts come from wirexapp.com/personal, checked in October 2026. Wirex’s older card URLs, wirexapp.com/card and /en/cards, now return errors, so the personal page is the main official source.

Key facts

Networks
Visa and Mastercard (principal member of both)
Card type
Not stated (prepaid or debit unconfirmed)
Plan
Wirex One, no subscription, no lock-up
Monthly fee
None (official wording)
FX fee
Zero-fee FX (stated)
ATM
Zero-fee worldwide (stated, caps not published)
Cashback
Up to 8% in USD
Savings
Up to 9.75% APY (separate product)
Top-ups
SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, crypto, Visa / Mastercard card
Coverage
130+ countries (stated)
Issuing entity
Not published per region

Wirex One vs the old subscription plans

This is the part of the Wirex card review most people get wrong, so we will be direct. Wirex’s current personal page promotes Wirex One with “up to 8% cashback in USD” and the words “No subscription. No lock-up.” That is the official position as of October 2026.

Older third-party reviews describe a different structure. They list a free Standard plan, a Premium plan at €9.99 a month and an Elite plan at €29.99. They also describe “Cryptoback” rewards of 0.5% to 8% paid in Wirex’s WXT token, with the top rate tied to a lock-up of 7.5 million WXT, and €200 of free ATM withdrawals on Standard. One widely cited source for these details is a review published on the blog of Bleap, which runs a competing card.

Where current and older Wirex information conflicts
TopicWirex today (official)Older reviews (secondary)
PlansWirex One, no subscriptionStandard, Premium €9.99, Elite €29.99
Lock-upNo lock-up7.5M WXT for top rate
Reward currencyCashback in USDCryptoback in WXT
Top rewardUp to 8%0.5–8% by plan
ATMZero-fee worldwide (stated)€200 free on Standard

We can’t confirm the old plan details on wirexapp.com, and they clash with the current wording. So we treat them as outdated. There is one more wrinkle. Wirex’s homepage has used the older “Cryptoback up to 8%” label, while the personal page talks about cashback in USD. That suggests the rebrand is not fully finished across the site. If you are an existing customer on an older plan, your terms may differ from what new users see. Check your plan screen in the app.

Wirex card fees: FX, ATM and top-ups

Wirex states “zero-fee FX and ATM worldwide.” That is a strong claim, and it would make Wirex one of the cheapest crypto cards for travel. What the page does not show is the small print: whether there are monthly caps on free ATM use, what exchange rate is used for currency conversion, and whether a spread applies when you convert crypto to spend. Zero-fee claims on cards often come with limits, so we suggest you look for them in the app before a trip. Our travel crypto card guide explains what to test.

The ATM owner can also add its own charge. That is outside Wirex’s control and applies to every card. For a fuller picture of cash costs, see our guide to crypto card ATM withdrawals.

Top-ups are one of Wirex’s strengths. You can add money by bank transfer through SEPA, Faster Payments or ACH, by depositing crypto, or by paying with a Visa or Mastercard card. That flexibility suits people who earn in fiat but also hold some crypto. Fees for card top-ups are not shown on the personal page. Our guide on how to load a crypto card compares the usual costs of each method.

As a rough benchmark, compare against a card that charges 2% FX. Spend €1,000 abroad on that card and you pay €20. If Wirex’s zero-fee FX applies to your spending with no hidden spread, you would save most of that. You can model both cases in our fee calculator.

Wirex cashback in USD

Wirex One advertises up to 8% cashback, now paid in USD rather than in a token. That is a real improvement if it holds, because USD rewards don’t swing in value like a small exchange token. The page does not list what you have to do to reach 8%. Across the cards we track, a top reward rate almost always comes with conditions, and most users earn less than the maximum.

Wirex also offers savings with up to 9.75% APY. That is a separate earning product, not a card perk, and the rate is a headline maximum. Treat it on its own merits. For rewards that we could verify in detail, see our crypto cashback cards ranking.

Editor’s take

We like where Wirex has gone with Wirex One: dropping subscriptions and token lock-ups is the right call for ordinary users. But our team won’t score a card highly on claims we can’t check. Our practical advice: open the account, look at the actual cashback rate, ATM allowance and FX rate the app shows you, and make one small foreign purchase before you move serious money. If the app matches the marketing, Wirex is excellent value.

— CryptoPrepaid.cards editorial team

Where the Wirex card is available

Wirex says it is available in 130+ countries. It does not list them on the personal page we checked, so country-level availability rests partly on market sources. Those sources say Wirex is not available in the US or Canada. They list it for the UK, New Zealand and Australia, where a partnership with the processor i2c has been reported. EU availability is widely reported, but we could not confirm country-level detail on wirexapp.com.

Wirex availability by region (market sources vs official site)

Reported available
Confirmed on wirexapp.com
EU / EEA
●
◐
United Kingdom
●
◐
Australia
●
○
New Zealand
●
○
United States
○
○
Canada
○
○

● yes ◐ partly / some regions ○ no

“Partial” here means Wirex’s own pages support the claim in general terms, such as SEPA and Faster Payments top-ups, but no full country list is published. Country pages on our site give more local detail: see crypto cards in the UK, Europe, Australia and New Zealand.

Issuer and custody

Wirex describes itself as a principal member of both Visa and Mastercard. That generally means a direct relationship with the card networks, which is a meaningful sign of maturity for a crypto company. What Wirex does not publish on the page we checked is which legal entity issues the card in each region. In Europe, crypto cards usually involve an e-money issuer for the card and a licensed crypto provider for the coins, so the regional entity matters.

The account is custodial: your crypto and fiat balances sit with Wirex until you spend them. That is normal for this kind of card. It also means your money depends on Wirex as a company. Our crypto card safety guide explains how to weigh custodial risk, and our debit vs prepaid guide explains why the card type matters for consumer protection.

How to get a Wirex card

  1. 01
    Download the app and sign up

    Create a Wirex account and complete identity verification.

  2. 02
    Check your plan screen

    Confirm you are on Wirex One and note the cashback rate offered to you.

  3. 03
    Top up

    Add money by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, crypto deposit or card.

  4. 04
    Activate the card

    Activate it in the app and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which Wirex supports.

  5. 05
    Test before you travel

    Make a small foreign purchase and a small ATM withdrawal to see the real costs.

Five things to confirm in the Wirex app
  • The monthly cap on fee-free ATM withdrawals
  • The exchange rate and any spread on currency conversion
  • What it takes to reach the 8% cashback rate
  • Fees for topping up with a debit or credit card
  • Which legal entity issues your card

Wirex card pros and cons

What we like

  • No subscription or lock-up under Wirex One (official wording)
  • Zero-fee FX and ATM claims worldwide
  • Many top-up routes: SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, crypto and cards
  • Wirex is a principal member of Visa and Mastercard
  • Advertised in 130+ countries

Watch out for

  • Old and new plan details conflict across sources
  • No published caps behind the zero-fee claims
  • Card type, issuing entity per region and ATM limits not disclosed
  • Not available in the US or Canada (market sources)

Wirex card alternatives

If you want a card with fully published fee tables, these are worth comparing. The Crypto.com Card is a true prepaid Visa with detailed tier terms. The Nexo Card publishes its FX and ATM tiers in full. KAST and RedotPay cover many countries for stablecoin spending.

Wirex alternatives with published fee schedules
CardMonthly / planFX feeRewardsWhereLinks
Crypto.com Card €0–€24.99 (Level Up)0–3% by tier/region0–4.5% in CROEEA, UK, US, Canada, Australia
Nexo Card None0.2% weekdays / 0.7% weekends0.1–2% (credit mode)EEA, UK, selected Europe
KAST Card $0 / $1,000 / $10,000 per year0.5–1.75%1.5–3% (tier)170+ countries (not India)
RedotPay Card None1.2%None standard100+ countries (not US)

Our view: Wirex is worth trying if you value flexible top-ups and multi-region coverage, as long as you verify the terms in the app. If you want every number in writing before you commit, start with Crypto.com or Nexo instead. You can see all the cards we track in our reviews hub.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Wirex card a prepaid card?
Wirex does not say clearly. People often call it the Wirex prepaid card, but the official personal page describes an app account with a card, and we could not find a statement classing it as prepaid or debit. The card spends from balances you top up in the Wirex app.
Does Wirex still charge a monthly subscription?
Not according to Wirex. Its personal page now promotes Wirex One with the words no subscription and no lock-up. Older reviews still describe paid Premium and Elite plans and a WXT token lock-up, but those details conflict with the current official wording, so we treat them as outdated.
Is the Wirex card available in the US or Canada?
Market sources say Wirex is not available in the US or Canada, although we could not confirm the full country list on wirexapp.com. Wirex says it is available in 130 or more countries, and it lists ACH among its bank top-up options, so check the app in your country before relying on it.
What cashback does the Wirex card pay?
Wirex advertises up to 8% cashback paid in USD on its personal page, while its homepage has used the older Cryptoback name. The conditions behind the top rate are not spelled out on the pages we checked, so expect most users to earn less than 8%.
Are Wirex FX and ATM withdrawals really free?
Wirex states zero-fee FX and ATM withdrawals worldwide. It does not publish the caps or exchange-rate spread behind that claim on the page we checked. ATM owners can still charge their own fees.

Sources and official pages

  1. Wirex — personal account and Wirex One
  2. Wirex — official homepage
  3. Bleap blog — Wirex card review with older plan details (secondary, competitor-published)
  4. Visa — official site
  5. Mastercard — official site
Ready when you are

Load your card with crypto you own

Buy Bitcoin, Ether or stablecoins with a bank card, Apple Pay or bank transfer, then move them to the card or wallet you choose.

Open account

Exchange running since 2013 · registered with FinCEN (US) and the FCA (UK) · card, Apple Pay or bank transfer

Keep reading

Need crypto for your card?Buy in minutes Buy crypto